Dani lives on a city block carpeted with concrete—until a street tree moves in.

“A simple story of a tree which transforms into a glorious celebration of life, growth, and community.”

—School Library Journal, starred review

COMING APRIL 4, 2023

About Shira

Shira Boss lives in New York City, home to 234 species of street trees! Her favorite is the dawn redwood, a confier that drops its neeles in fall. She learned about the special lives of street trees from the urban arborist Bob Redman. Shira wrote about Bob’s childhood in her picture book Up in the Leaves: The True Story of the Central Park Treehouses, a Junior Library Guild Selection.

element-truck

About The City Tree

In this enchanting and informative picture book with environmental themes, a newly planted sidewalk tree transforms the neighborhood as residents nurture it through the seasons. Vibrantly illustrated and with extensive backmatter, this is a lovely ode to how trees make cities—and communities—better. Perfect for fans of The Night Gardener and The Curious Garden.

This love letter to the many gifts of trees reminds us to take care of our neighbors—even those with roots, branches, and leaves.

School Visits

Nature, Science, Stories! Shira guides students through picture book pages into the enchanting world of trees right outside their doors. Contact Shira now to book your classroom visit!

About Up in the Leaves

How does a child growing up in the big city escape the crowds?

Bob Redman took refuge up in the trees of Central Park. The treehouses he built there are part New York City legend, part every child’s dream of secret spots and magical hideaways…

Praise for Shira's Works

“A delightful combination of metaphors and vivid art as each season the tree continues to make the neighborhood a joyful place to live. Tranquil and calming, this is an ideal bedtime read.”

Kirkus Reviews
on The City Tree

“Wonderful story inviting readers to follow their dreams, no matter how tall they become!”

Books for the Curious Child
on Up in the Leaves